Tuesday, September26,2023

56th Engineers' Day Celebration Highlights: Engineering a Resilient Future in Delhi

The Delhi State Centre of The Institution of Engineers (India) commemorated the 56th Engineers' Day on September 15, 2023, under the theme: Engineering a Resilient Future: Building Stronger, Smarter, Safer. The event featured esteemed guests, including Hon'ble Justice Shri Mukundakam Sharma, Former Judge of the Supreme Court of India, and Former Chief Judge of the Delhi High Court, alongside Shri O P Goel, Former DG of the Central Public Works Department, and Shri Nirmal Kumar, National General Secretary of the SC Morcha, Bharatiya Janata Party.


The ceremony commenced with the paying of rich tributes to Bharat Ratna Sir M Visvesvaraya, marked by the offering of flower petals by the Chief Guest and other dignitaries.


Prof (Dr) S K Singh, Chairman of The Institution of Engineers (India), Delhi State Centre, and Vice Chancellor of Rajasthan Technical University, extended a warm welcome to the Guests and Invitees. He provided insights into the achievements and contributions of Bharat Ratna Sir M. Visvesvaraya, emphasizing that engineers harness innovation and cutting-edge advancements to create smarter systems. They play a pivotal role in developing intelligent cities and revolutionary transportation solutions, steering us towards a future where intelligence prevails. Shri O P Goel and Shri Nirmal Kumar also shared their perspectives.


Hon'ble Justice Shri Mukundakam Sharma, in his address, underscored the crucial role engineers play in a nation's progress. They lead the way in innovation, problem-solving, and technological advancements, serving as architects of the future.


During the event, the Eminent Engineers Awards 2023 were presented to distinguished individuals, including Shri Ashwani Kumar, IAS, Principal Secretary (Home), Govt of NCT of Delhi; Maj Gen Bikramdeep Singh, VSM, Additional Director General of Financial Planning, Indian Army; Brig P K G Mishra (Retd), OSD to Lt Governor, Govt of Delhi; and Shri Satish Upadhyay, Executive Director, NTPC Limited. The Eminent Engineers Awardees also addressed the audience.


Shri Rajesh Sharma, Honorary Secretary of IEI-DSC, concluded the ceremony with a vote of thanks, urging all participants to actively engage in engineering pursuits for socio-economic development.